Apple IT & Web-tech News

Safari will now hide info about legacy plugins from websites by default, force them for HTML5 format

Share on Facebook
Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on StumbleUponShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestShare on Reddit

Another day, another nail into Adobe Flash’s coffin, and its Apple this time. Following trend of other mainstream browsers, Apple announced on Wednesday that the next version of Safari will stop revealing information about plugins like Flash, Java, Silverlight and QuickTime to websites.

The company says that instead of allowing websites to render content using legacy plugins, Safari 10 will force them to push data over the newer HTML5 format. Apparently, the new update aims to increase security, performance, and battery life on your OS X computer.

On websites that offer both Flash and HTML5 implementations of content, Safari users will now always experience the modern HTML5 implementation, delivering improved performance and battery life,

the blog post reads.

This policy and its benefits apply equally to all websites; Safari has no built-in list of exceptions. If a website really does require a legacy plug-in, users can explicitly activate it on that website.

This means that unless the website doesn’t come with a HTML5 version, users can work with high speed and reliable content without any trouble. In case the website does not provide content in HTML5, the user is notified about this. If Flash is installed, then the rendering takes place normally. But if the plugin is missing, the user can choose whether or not to download and install it.

Not just this, users also get the option to reload a page with installed plug-ins activated. This is a command present in  in Safari’s View menu and the contextual menu for the Smart Search Field’s reload button.

Flash has always been a troublesome plugin. The technology, though very useful, is getting security issues every second day now. Just a few days ago, we saw another security breach that has been in exploited several countries, including Russia, Nepal, South Korea, China, India, Kuwait and Romania giving full access to the affected system.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *