On the eve of the acceptance of perhaps the most controversial policy ever made by WhatsApp, the Facebook-owned company made it clear that while users who do not accept the policy can keep their accounts, they will start losing some of the top (perhaps the best!) features of WhatsApp until they do decide to accept it.
In simple terms, your account will be safe if you do not accept the policy despite getting persistent reminders from WhatsApp, but you will lose a lot of functionality soon, including being unable to access features like chat lists, notifications, and calls. The reminders will appear permanently on your display whenever you open WhatsApp, and the only way you can get rid of the reminders is to accept the policy in order to access the chat list or send messages to your accounts.
In a statement, WhatsApp highlighted the features users will be unable to use. “After a few weeks of limited functionality, you won’t be able to receive incoming calls or notifications and WhatsApp will stop sending messages and calls to your phone. At that point, users will have to choose: either they accept the new terms, or they are in effect prevented from using WhatsApp at all,” WhatsApp said. So you will have your account in all but name, unable to see messages in what is an instant messaging app, and restricted from answering and making WhatsApp calls soon after.
WhatsApp made it clear that until you accept, you will face the consequences until you are forced to accept or delete WhatsApp from your device completely.