One of the main points of the controversy was the apprehension that users would not be able to access their WhatsApp accounts if they did not agree to the policy. WhatsApp on Friday allayed those fears, saying that such users would continue to be able to access their accounts, which will not be deleted.
“No accounts will be deleted on May 15 because of this update and no one in India will lose functionality of WhatsApp either. We will follow up with reminders to people over the next several weeks,” a spokesperson said, adding that while a “majority of users who have received the new terms of service have accepted them”, some people have not had the chance to do so yet. However, neither the reason behind the decision nor the number of users who have accepted the terms so far has been revealed by the company.
The former deadline of February 8 had been pushed to May 15, and now that it has been scrapped, further developments on the matter are unknown as of now.
“As a reminder, this update does not impact the privacy of personal messages for anyone. Our goal is to provide information about new options we are building that people will have, to message a business on WhatsApp, in the future,” the spokesperson said, adding that it would take every opportunity to explain how WhatsApp protects people’s personal messages and private information.