lg, LG G6, G6

Good news, fellas! LG has officially confirmed that it will unveil the G6 at Mobile World Congress in Barcelona. The Korean giant has started sending out early press invites, providing us with a definite date for its launch event. The LG G6 will be making its first public appearance on February 26 at 12:00 p.m Barcelona time. This means the phone will be unveiled at 3:00 a.m PST or 6:00 a.m ET or 4:30 p.m IST.

In the save-the-date invite attached above, LG has shown the outline of a smartphone with the text reading “See More, Play More.” Inside of this device also hosts a spectacular ocean view with sparkles going off in the sky. The Korean giant is gearing up to celebrate the launch of its flagship device in about a month’s time.

As for the text written in the phone’s silhouette, it could potentially point towards a larger screen size. The LG G6 is expected to sport a large 5.7-inch display and a particularly odd resolution (2880 x 1440 pixels). The screen will have a surprising aspect ratio of 18:9 and a QHD+ resolution. As detailed by the company themselves, the said aspect ratio is aimed at providing a better screen to body ratio.

LG might also take the bezel-free route and adapt features similar to the Mi Mix. Samsung and Apple are also looking to tread the same path with their flagship releases. The Korean hardware maker is also planning to give up on its modular strategy — which failed miserably. The G6 is expected to be a normal smartphone with potential waterproof/dustproof capabilities. There have also been rumors that LG is packing in copper heat pipes to prevent the phone from overheating — a precautionary measure after the Note 7 explosions.

The company has already teased their upcoming flagship device through a teaser video, released just last week. LG plans to unveil the G6 at MWC in Barcelone at the aforementioned date. It is then expected to available for purchase from the second week of March. The company is going for a tight launch schedule to outrun the launch of its competitor — Samsung Galaxy S8. It plans to boost sales and cut competition by cutting down on its go-to-market period. And it might eventually prove fruitful for LG if the device attracts consumer interest.

2 comments
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *