Google today announced a fresh update to its translation tool, Google Translate. The latest update adds 10 more languages to its portfolio, which includes Malayalam, one of South India’s most prominently spoken tongues.

The latest update also includes addition of Burmese, which is the official language of Myanmar. With the addition of 10 new languages, Google Translate now offers translation services in 90 languages. Google says it will now allow more than 200 Million to use its translation tool.

These languages are available now on and will roll out soon to our mobile apps and to the built-in translation functionality in Chrome.

With over 200 Million internet users and 5 Million additions to that number per month, Google has been undertaking a variety of programmes to woo Indian internet users to use its translation services.

It recently introduced its voice search services in Hindi and seven other Indian languages which includes Bengali, Gujarati, Kannada, Marathi, Punjabi, Tamil, and Telugu.

Google has thanked its Translate Community and rightly so because the data which Google gets from its search algorithm isn’t enough to get the translation tool running, and that too in 90 languages. Interestingly Google Translate now include 10 of India’s major languages which includes Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Marathi, Malayalam, Nepali (some of North and Northeast India) Punjabi, Tamil, and Telugu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *