Google News

Gmail’s ‘Undo send’ Finally Comes Out Of Beta

gmail-innovative
Share on Facebook
Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on StumbleUponShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestShare on Reddit

Six Years. ‘Undo Send’ was in Beta for Six long years (unarguably the longest ever), before it finally stepped out of Google’s experimental lab today. The search giant finally released the feature out, awarding it a permanent locale in the Gmail landscape.

It’s a feature that has long been thought should be a staple in email. Undo Send was first introduced in early 2009, and since then it has lived in obscurity in the labs section of email service’s settings, that means available only to users who are comfortable enough to test experimental features.

Using Undo Send, you can unsend e-mails up a certain time after you’ve hit the send button, whether it be because of a typo, a forgotten attachment, or a wrong recipient entered.

The feature is turned off by default for those not currently using the Labs version, and can be enabled from the General tab in Gmail settings. In order to enable the setting, you may go to General Tab settings and turn on the Undo Send toggle. Once turned on, users can choose the length of time they’ll have to hit Undo Send after clicking the send button, from 5 to 30 seconds.

However, it is currently limited to only web-based Gmail and Inbox application, that Google recently opened for all users to try. The standard Gmail application for Android and iOS is yet to receive this update and will soon get one once the feature is tested successfully on web and Inbox platforms.


 

Senior Writer


Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *